Health


Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.[a]
Do not be wise in your own eyes;
fear the Lord and shun evil.
This will bring health to your body
and nourishment to your bones.

Proverbs 3:5-8

I’ve been sick 4times in the past 3months. Every time I felt I was getting better or getting over it, I would get hit again by the nasties. I’ve spent more on medical than I’ve spent on anything else over these last 3months.

Being unwell is horrible. Health is such a huge part of life. I’ve struggled to get much done or focus on anything these last 3 months. It’s just not easy, especially doing a three week stint without a full day off.

But despite all this, I’ve still got my joy. I still have a passion and desire to go to work everyday. I still get satisfaction out of seeing God at work in young women’s lives and helping support them through life and struggles.

But most of all, I have a trust. A hope. Someone to lean on. I don’t have the strength or understanding to deal with the difficulties and traumas I face each day. But I have a God who Is Mighty and I get to see this displayed most days as I lean on Him and His ways.

So where does the

health to my body

and the

nourishment to my bones

fit in here??

Am I not trusting God enough? Am I being wise in my own eyes? Do I not fear God enough? Do I need to pray more or read the Bible more?

I have come to realize that being sick has made me more aware or my weaknesses and the areas of my life that need discipline,wisdom and letting go.

My job is 24/7, if I choose for it to be. And I get sucked in with all the work there is to do, meeting needs, caring, overworking, etc. I am so guilty and it’s gotten me to a point of my body saying

STOP

!!

So I’m thankful for a God who gives wisdom and shows us the right way to go. My body and health are important to God and should be to me.

So here’s to some changes and to health.

Leave a Reply

