I’ve Had Lice Thrice and It Wasn’t Very Nice


20140412-152903.jpg

Call me paranoid or maybe slightly insane, but I can’t stop this itchy, crawly feeling……
Nobody likes Nits. I hate nits. And I remember the embarrassment I felt when I realized I had nits. I had just come from being a leader at a camp with over 20 teenage girls. It was one of the best weekends of my life just loving on these girls and sharing with them.
Yet, here I was sitting with a bunch of my friends at a fancy restraint and I couldn’t shake this itchy feeling in my scalp. I tried my best to restrain myself from having a good scratch in front of my friends. Finally I couldn’t handle it and I just gave my head a little scratch and I felt something caught in my fingertips. I tried to be as quiet and slow as I could as I pulled my hand down under the table for examination. To my horror, I found a huge creepy, crawly louse. I felt mortified, horrified and extremely embarrassed.
For the rest of the evening I couldn’t relax and I could t leave that restraint and group of friends fast enough. And, yes, I dealt with those creepy crawlies straight away. Since that moment I have been subject to two further incidents of having lice.

I’m no longer as embarassed and now for me, it comes with part of the life I’ve chosen to live. If I get lice now it means I am actually being at the ground level of working with those who are down and out. The dirty. The smelly and the lice-infested. I now feel proud ( not in an up myself way, but a humbling way) that I can connect with, love and embrace without the thinking that I’ll be contaminated or dirtied.

I have been saved not for myself but to “love mercy and act justly” (Micah 6:8). Most of the time it requires me to step beyond or beneath the comfortable, the clean and the pure. I feel privileged to be invited into homes, families and lives and take the love of Jesus. To bring light into dark places. If it means I get dirty or in my case lice, it’s worth it.

In this life I choose to give my life to seeking what God seeks after. And Jesus said he “came to seek and save that which was lost”(Luke 19:10). Lost in this verse doesn’t just mean something that’s been hidden or led astray. It actually means that which has been destroyed, broken and messed up. We know the devil comes to steal, kill and destroy. But Jesus comes to bring Life and Life to the full (John 10:10). Every day lives and families are being destroyed. I want to be a part of seeking and bringing life to those who are lost.

For me, I know God has chosen me to work with young women. The down and out. The disadvantaged. The voiceless. The broken. And give them the opportunity to encounter Hope. life. The love of their Father. It’s not always nice and it’s not always comfortable. And it’s definitely not easy. But Jesus never said it would be.

Jesus said ” take up your cross and follow me” (Matt 16:24) and in that taking up if our cross it means dying to ourselves and taking on Christ. So I lay down that which is of me that would hinder me and choose to take up Christ to seek and save that which is lost.

Leave a Reply

